five things

I miss this place. I miss writing rambly thoughts and commentary on photos. Another semester of classes have come to an end, and this semester has been phenomenally busy and exhausting and exciting all at the same time. I got my drivers’ license at the start of November, and then it was a week of presentations, and then it was Diwali, and then another week of presentations and reports being due, and now classes are done with. I still have two report submissions this week, and oh yes, five finals to study for.

There’s so much I want to talk about, you know? I’ll probably try having an update sometime soon later this week on what has actually been going on in the last couple of weeks.

So instead of one entry to read, have five links to enjoy!

DESIGN

Tutorial:Create a Reusable Retro Type Treatment. While I’ve gotten quite used to Photoshop as my go-to software for photo editing and general design, my stint with the design school made me more aware of how brilliant Illustrator really is. I’m nowhere as comfortable with Illustrator as I am with Photoshop, and thus I resort to tutorials to help me out every now and then. This tutorial’s short, simple, and easy to follow. Three things that make a good tutorial. I think it’s a useful tutorial too as it helps you create something that’s so transferrable between the different kinds of things I design: emailers for school, banners for Facebook pages, templates for sites (on occasion), posters, the whole lot. Try it out for yourself, especially if you’ve had Illustrator as part of your Adobe Creative Suite, and never really used it much.

TRAVEL

How to pack 2 weeks into a carry-on. Sounds impossible? I thought so too. I don’t travel all that much. I enjoy travelling, of course, but trips are about one or two a year, usually. So maybe I’m not a pro at packing well because I don’t travel much, but I generally have that tendency to pack way too many clothes and I’ll end up not wearing some stuff, and actually bringing even more stuff back because I like buying clothes overseas. I’m going overseas in December for slightly less than three weeks, and I already dread packing my bags for this trip. It is potentially going to be a disaster, the packing. (I’ll say more about this trip in a bit, hopefully)

TECH

Billpin: Making Shared Expenses Easy You know, they say kids in business school don’t really end up starting their own businesses. I remember receiving an email to my school account from someone in the school who was trying to get the word out on an application they had helped create. I forget the exact details about the sender’s involvement in the project, but basically I was pleased that people were coming up with applications that were useful.This one solves the problem to having to split bills with groups of people. I’m someone who tends to split bills up a lot. It involves so much confusion and effort (yes, typing all those numbers onto your phone calculator and adding the service charge and taxes and then making sure people are paying for what they ate, etc.etc.) that it’s troublesome. This app tries to solve that problem a little bit. The sad bit is that I haven’t actually had much of a chance to whip out this App and put it to good use, considering there hasn’t been a whole lot of time for mass gatherings, but I do hope to use it at some point, and if you find it useful too, spread the word!

FASHION

Tutorial:DIY Beaded, Braided Necklace. I found this on Pinterest, I won’t try to hide that. But chunky necklaces fascinate me even though I don’t own, (or wear those than I own very often), that many. There’s an aesthetic for you that looks expensive but isn’t, and I usually get all my chunky necklaces from India. Nevertheless, when I feel my fingers itching for a DIY project, this is something that I’d love to turn to. This is something I would wear, and wear often, too.

FOOD

2-minute French Toast in a Cup I found this recipe a long, long time ago, and saved it because I’ve wanted to try it out myself. Over the year, it seems like many friends have tried out the mug-cake and mug-brownie recipes, but I still haven’t seen one for mug-french-toast. French Toast is the best, regardless of how sinfully calorie-filled it may be, and again, this is something the world needs to know about. The pictures in this post are so pretty, it’s satisfying to just look at them.

Comments
One Response to “five things”
  1. Hi there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let
    you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not
    sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

do you have reasons!

  • Get In Touch

    If you'd like me to do a review of an event, restaurant, service, or product, or would like to see yourself featured on my blog send me an email at srkroshni@gmail.com with some details, and we'll see if we can work something out.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,100 other subscribers