ready as i’ll ever be

What a year it’s been. 2013 went by much more quickly than I expected it to, as always, and I frequently found myself wondering over the past few months ‘Did I really go to Laos only a year ago? It feels like it was years ago!’. But no, my community service trip to Laos was in December 2012, so by the time it came to December 2013, I was indulging in some real nostalgia and wondering where did all the time go.

It’s been a rollercoaster of a year for myself, with some amazing things happening along the way, and some of my best memories of the year include turning 21, being gainfully employed over the summer, getting past my probation year driving without any trouble, getting my certificate in graphic design, being appointed as a Google Student Ambassador for my university and having a blast during our training summit, the entrepreneurship trip that came together within 3 weeks and had me visiting some of my most-admired companies in the land of my dreams, San Francisco (and a bonus of getting to hang out at my dad’s place in Redmond, Washington), taking a plunge and creating an artwork for my college’s art exhibition, receiving an award that made me realise that everything that I do is making a difference in my life and pushing me closer towards a goal that’s now much clearer than it used to be.

So many good things and not-so-good things happened this year, but it’s all okay looking back on it. I’ve spent a year on my college council, managing the arts fraternity with eleven other hilarious people, and I never thought I’d enjoy it as much as I have. It’s made me realise a lot about how I prioritise things in my life, and I think I have more direction in my life than I had prior to my council term. I’ve spent a year scrambling to do so many things, and now that I know I’m done with my term, I’ve got some time freed up to work on those other areas and make something of it all.

I hope 2014 is a year where I come into my own. I know that will be true in some way as I’ll be abroad, based in Gothenburg, Sweden for six months starting mid-January. I’m doing a semester abroad and I’ll tell you more about that a little later, but it’s the kind of change I think I need at this point. I’ve done so much in the last year that I sometimes wonder what’s left at college, other than academics. People call it the junior-year-syndrome where you’re a seasoned college veteran, but you’re nowhere near done yet. There’s still three semesters to go before I graduate, and a semester abroad is something I really have not done before – ever. So that will be real exciting.

Other than that, I hope to see as much of the world as I can in 2014 (considering that the opportunity is right there for me to grab), I hope I find a way to open up to people more and make more time for friends and simply hanging out without the need for an agenda (something I sorely lacked in 2013, and maybe before that as well) I hope to maintain a fitness regime that coexists with my diet (meaning I don’t run 8km in order to return home and have a ginormous dinner…which kinda happens oh well) but other than that, I just want a good year ahead where everyone’s healthy and happy and things work out all around. It’s more than enough.

do you have reasons!

  • Get In Touch

    If you'd like me to do a review of an event, restaurant, service, or product, or would like to see yourself featured on my blog send me an email at srkroshni@gmail.com with some details, and we'll see if we can work something out.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,100 other followers

