Artdicted’s Voice IV: Trespassing

Earlier this week was the opening of my college art club’s exhibition for this semester. It’s always pretty cool, but this year was special because I decided to be a part of it and become an artist for a while. I’ve dabbled in several other art forms including dance, theatre, writing, and music, but visual art always eluded me. I wanted to change that after getting my Certificate in Graphic Design. I figured I have nothing to lose, but everything to gain. Not only would it complete a goal on my 2013 bucket list, but it would also be pretty fantastic design practice as well.

I’ve always been fascinated by vector art, so I decided to focus on that. My project isn’t the easiest thing to explain, but basically, it’s vectorised representation of elements of anonymous individuals’ minds, created to prove a point that everybody has bad parts to them, but they don’t make you a bad person. You can learn more about my piece over at yes-but.tumblr.com, and view my artist bio at this link

20130907_094650

These are the test prints for my final piece. I was kind of terrified to get the final prints done straight, without full-size test prints, but I was working on a budget and didn’t want to blow it. I made do with test prints that were A4-sized.

20130909_130820
20130909_130834

Here’s the full piece! If you look real close, you’ll see that I made some edits to the test prints. But they’re really quite minor. I’m loving the positioning of my artwork, as it’s along an escalator that students take to get to the library. Meaning, it gets a lot of human traffic, and it’s a generally dull-looking wall. It made me incredibly happy when I had a few people telling me how this has brightened up the whole area considerably!

Artwork ready, it’s exhibition time! There was a tour of all 18 exhibits part of the exhibition, and here are some photos of my favourite pieces.

opening!

IMG_20130910_231054
IMG_20130910_231207

IMG_20130910_231302

IMG_20130911_002103

IMG_20130911_002205

IMG_20130911_002254

You can find out more about the exhibition over at the official website. Not all exhibits are accessible to the public, but a good portion of them are. I think what I like the most about this whole experience is how we were given free rein on most of the execution of our projects, and that nobody on the team ever held us back. There was constant encouragement and a general sense of sharing similar ideas but expressing them in different ways. I’ve never been involved in anything like this before, and I’m glad I took a leap of faith and dove headfirst into it.

Apparently we’re mentioned on TimeOut Singapore!

do you have reasons!

  • Get In Touch

    If you'd like me to do a review of an event, restaurant, service, or product, or would like to see yourself featured on my blog send me an email at srkroshni@gmail.com with some details, and we'll see if we can work something out.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,100 other followers

