lose yourself in nature

IMG_5358

IMG_5360

IMG_5385

IMG_5411

IMG_5413

IMG_5418

IMG_5420

IMG_5443

IMG_5444

IMG_5464

IMG_5466

IMG_5469

IMG_5484

IMG_5486

IMG_5491

IMG_5510

IMG_5514

IMG_5522

IMG_5526

IMG_5545

IMG_5551

IMG_5572

IMG_5578

jpg

 

 

If there’s one thing I crave from a place that I consider living in, it’s nature. It’s the availability of nature around me. I’m a city girl through and through, but I need the option of being able to leave the city behind and drive out for an hour or two and get far away enough that all that’s around me is nature. That’s one thing that really annoys me about living on a tiny island like Singapore.

My dad and I made the drive from Redmond,Washington to Mt. Rainier National Park, a two hour drive, to see the majestic Mt. Rainier when I was in the States last week.  My dad had always mentioned Mt. Rainier being beautiful, but nothing had prepared me for the real beauty of the whole park surrounding it. I could see Mt. Rainier on my flight from San Francisco to Seattle, and the pilot pointed it out as we flew around it. It’s sheer size, and the fact that it’s a volcano, and that I’m a real geography geek, made for one of the most amazing days of my life so far. No photograph can capture the feeling of standing on a trail, staring out into waterfalls, glaciers, valleys, forests, wildflowers, and even wildlife in every direction.

Driving through forests, enjoying the incredibly fresh air, not having any phone service, was wonderful. It’s the perfect way to get away, isn’t it? And it’s so peaceful. I’m not entirely sure how I became this nature-loving person, considering I’ve grown up in what is basically a concrete jungle. I’ve never been hiking or anything, but I enjoy being around nature. Walking past the sub-alpine wildflowers, the main thing that ran through my mind was  ‘I could be happy in a place like this’.

Comments
2 Responses to “lose yourself in nature”
  1. aditi shiva says:

    oh wow THIS IS THE NORTH AMERICAN SHIRE, it seems <3

do you have reasons!

  • Get In Touch

    If you'd like me to do a review of an event, restaurant, service, or product, or would like to see yourself featured on my blog send me an email at srkroshni@gmail.com with some details, and we'll see if we can work something out.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,100 other followers

