life is happening

Screen Shot 2013-07-15 at 11.48.33 PM

A few weeks ago, maybe about six weeks ago, or even less than that, I was contacted about this college-related trip that was going to be taking place. To where? Silicon Valley, you say? Ever since I turned fifteen I’ve known that I want to work outside of Singapore for a period of time. I’m not saying I would love the place to the point that I’d decide to call it home , but I’ve been home, grounded in Singapore for 21 years, and will be till I’m 23, and I know that spending a year or two working outside of Singapore would be helpful in learning a lot about myself and what kind of an environment suits me best.

So once I heard about this trip, I discussed it with my family, had to talk to my supervisor and bosses, and it’s honestly been exhaustingly hectic, trying to sort out all the paperwork and planning this trip.

The trip itself is an intensive ten-day long immersion programme in the heart of Silicon Valley, where we’ll get to visit a bunch of really great companies, take a few classes (more like lectures) at Ivy League colleges (which I would probably otherwise never get a chance to step into) and we end off with a 24-hour Business Challenge. It is a really intense trip, and I feel really underprepared for everything that’s going to be thrown at us. I haven’t done my readings yet (haven’t started, more like) and my business plan is in such early stages that I’m going to have a lot of work to do either on my seventeen hour flight, or once I’m there.

Since the USA is such an elusive country, I’m making a detour from San Francisco to Seattle before coming back home. I had to do a lot of paperwork to push forward the end of my internship, but it all seems to have worked out mostly, and basically I could extend my trip without having to worry about coming home and having to catch up on work. I’m spending about five days in Seattle, as my dad’s actually working in Redmond, Washington for a year or so. I’m looking forward to that. I’m not sure how everything will go, but I’m happy with just getting to do nothing for a few days and take my camera out for a spin.

Travelling for me has always been about achieving dreams and discovering new places. I usually like having a bit more time on my hands to do a bit of research and find some good places to eat, places I’d want to shop, things I want to look out for, and especially for a place like Seattle, I want to know what are the things  I should see. I haven’t had the time to do any of that, and think I may just end up landing in the country and taking each day as it comes.

Something is happening this summer, and it’s definitely part of a shift in the way I look at life in general, and I can’t help but feel like life is happening. It’s the phrase that comes to mind. This summer has been insane so far, and I’ve been pushed to my limits in several ways and given opportunities I’d never dreamed of. I had my worries that it would be mundane and I’d get frustrated as hell, but I think I’ve found myself a lucky star somewhere and can’t communicate how much I appreciate the things that are happening to me. I’ve had my share of bad luck, bad timing, and general non-specialness, and from all that, I feel like things are going really great for a change. I’m not sure how long this will last, but it is exciting, and reminds me that every ounce of effort that I put into the things I do is worthwhile, and is part of something bigger that is happening: Life.

These unexpected stories are the scariest, but I also have a feeling that they’ll hold the key to some great treasure, whether it’s in the form of great photo ops, meeting someone special, or finding a break for myself within the madness that has been not just summer, but 2013 so far.

I leave on Saturday, the 20th, and I’ll be back in Singapore on the 7th of August.

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “life is happening”
  1. aerospacegod says:

    Hi Roshni, happened to stumble upon your blog while googling for orita sinclair. May I ask you some questions regarding the school? :)

do you have reasons!

  • Get In Touch

    If you'd like me to do a review of an event, restaurant, service, or product, or would like to see yourself featured on my blog send me an email at srkroshni@gmail.com with some details, and we'll see if we can work something out.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,100 other followers

