potw: midi mania

Screen Shot 2013-05-26 at 4.22.35 PM

About two years ago, I had asked my sister to help me buy an ikat print midi skirt from Forever21

. Something about it attracted me. The bold print was one part of it, the lovely pleats another, but there was something else as well. It wasn’t just a casual skirt that was also really comfy, but I felt like it had the potential to be something more. And that’s where my love for midi skirts began, I think.

Or perhaps it started much earlier, when I got a flowy, burnt orange skirt for my birthday when I was about five or six.(I have a photo somewhere, but I can’t locate it easily so it’ll have to wait). Either way, this ikat print skirt is something that people were generally apprehensive about: it looks like a grandma skirt. But once you wear it, and throw on some heels, it transforms into something wonderfully elegant and that can take you anywhere from a nice sunday brunch, to a smart-casual work event (depending on the skirt, of course).

I found this beautiful red skirt in India not too long after the ikat print skirt, and I’m still not entirely sure if it’s supposed to be high waisted or not, whether it’s supposed to be a full-length skirt or not. I found a single piece, in a size that usually doesn’t fit me, and it was just love at first sight. It was a pity that it wasn’t being sold in any other colours, because the cut and stitching is absolute brilliance.

This is the skirt I’m talking about. You’ve seen photos of it on my blog before. Just look at how that stitching goes! It’s so flowy! I can gush for ages on this.

fabindia 2  fabindia 1

 

The point I’m trying to make here is how heels are what transforms a midi skirt. It just doesn’t look the same with flats. Even a slight elevation with comfy wedges, or kitten heels is enough. Flats just don’t look as good with midi skirt, yet flats are what most people wear most of the time, so midi skirts seem like a poor buy. I absolutely adore how midi skirts feel when you’re wearing heels. I actually wore this same skirt to a fancy event during my sister’s graduation, and didn’t feel out of place at all. Flats are fine, definitely, but heels are great.

More of my midi skirts!

bangkok 1

I got this lovely leaf print one at a stall (along with two other midi skirts) for 100 baht, which is basically SGD 4. Such a steal.

Belts help make midi skirts great too!

ikat print

And here is a group of my very lovely friends. I stole this pic off Facebook just to show off my ikat print skirt. This one is super casual, and has pockets! It is so great for college because it’s light and has pockets! Pockets are insanely useful.

People talk about their must-haves when they’re travelling. I always keep a midi skirt, because it goes from casual to more formal so quickly.

And that’s my polyvore of the week. (:

Comments
2 Responses to “potw: midi mania”
  1. Victoria says:

    LOVE that red skirt, it’s sooo cute!!

do you have reasons!

  • Get In Touch

    If you'd like me to do a review of an event, restaurant, service, or product, or would like to see yourself featured on my blog send me an email at srkroshni@gmail.com with some details, and we'll see if we can work something out.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,100 other followers

