happy birthday to me

IMG_5140

So, I’m 21. It’s supposed to be a big deal, right? It’s supposed to feel like a big deal, but somehow I’m a little lost at trying to figure out what it is exactly that I feel. Do I feel sad that I’m not really a kid anymore? Not really. I’m quite glad to be growing into my own ground and being able to do more things that I want to do, knowing what I want out of life for myself, and finding a place for myself in this world as an adult. Am I scared of what adulthood brings? Maybe a little bit. I still hold onto the big dream of living and working in San Francisco for several years, and working in an agency in the field that I want to work in. I still want to be a published author or playwright by age 25. I want to direct another theatre production before I graduate from college. I want to get my freelance thing up and going and actually make something out of that.  Those are things that haven’t changed for something like the last three years or so.

Nevertheless, turning 21 is something worth celebrating, and I had a lovely dinner with my family at Modestos, and also had brunch with a group of friends. And got myself a much-needed pedicure (courtesy of the lovely elder sister). It’s been pretty hectic school-wise lately, and it’s not going to slow down anytime soon, so this weekend has been me trying to figure out how to actually balance out celebrating myself, while not ignoring the work that needs to be done.

The gifts I’ve received from friends and family thus far are stunning, beautiful things, and it’s making me realise that as the years go by, people who have gotten close to me know what makes me smile and what makes me happy. It’s a strange thing to say, but I can’t help but admit that it gives me warm, fuzzy feelings on my insides when I realise I have friends who know me so well. Whether it was the absolute perfection that are the Diana F lenses for my DSLR, or the single roll of film for taking film photos, the new watch I received that makes my watch collection grow by one more, the totally badass earrings that clearly make a statement, and the simple black notebook that isn’t lined and has a soft-cover and can fit in any bag, they’re all such a miscellany of things put together, but to me, each thing kind of reflects how well someone knows me. And that is super awesome.

I actually want to have a really long entry reflecting on the year ahead for myself, and what I want to achieve in it, but for tonight, I really need to get work done, so that will have to wait till tomorrow night, probably. Have some photos in the mean time.

IMG_5139

My Blueberries and Banana French Toast with Raw Honey from Real Food Cafe at Central Mall

cake

The cake that my sis bought for this brunch

cake 2

One of my favourite photos of the day.

cake 1

An obligatory unglamourous shot of me being fed cake

happiness

Such a pretty bunch of things

lomo

DIANA LENSES. HOW EXCITING.

film and diana lens

AND WITH THE ADAPTOR FOR THE DSLR!! and film film FILM!

earrings a

Daaaaaamn these are sexy.

notebook

A black notebook with french, and a quote, and a moustache? Perfect-o!

pedicure

Nicely cleaned feet (pardon the giant blister if you can spot it ahaha) and shiny pink nails!

Comments
2 Responses to “happy birthday to me”
  1. victoria says:

    Ahhhh I LOVE the notebook, omg need to go out and see if there’s anything like it now lol

do you have reasons!

  • Get In Touch

    If you'd like me to do a review of an event, restaurant, service, or product, or would like to see yourself featured on my blog send me an email at srkroshni@gmail.com with some details, and we'll see if we can work something out.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,100 other followers

