baby’s black balloon makes her fly

googoo dolls dizzy

FOUND&PURCHASED

A pristine secondhand copy of The Goo Goo Dolls’ Dizzy Up The Girl, from Gramophone at The Cathay, for $4.95

*

This album will probably never leave my list of favourite albums of all time.  This album sort of was my gateway to The Goo Goo Dolls, and I think I was about 11 or 12 at the time, and my sister was 14 or 15, and she introduced me to the greatness that is Iris, the song they’re best known for. So I heard Iris when I was about 12, and then I somehow got myself hunting down videos on Yahoo! Music (because that was the only place on the internet at that point, which could let me stream music videos, as far as I knew) and realised I liked their sound a lot. The guitar solos and drums. They were something different that I’d never really listened to. The music I liked before finding The Goo Goo Dolls was mostly the tween-sugar-pop stuff ranging from S Club 7 and Avril Lavigne to Hilary Duff possibly. So alternative-rock from a band that formed in the 80s? I knew none of my friends would even know who these people were, much less care about them, but it got me digging through whatever I could find to hear more of their stuff. And then eventually over the years I got to listen to their older stuff pre-Dizzy, newer stuff post-Dizzy, and even though I loved so much of their music, Dizzy Up The Girl still felt like the best album. From beginning to end, the songs and ordered perfectly, it’s got so much going on within the whole album and trust me, I didn’t even get half the references in the songs until I was atleast 15 or 16.

So since I was so madly in love with The Goo Goo Dolls, I had watched countless videos on Youtube (once it existed) of their concert Live in Buffalo in 2004, which happened when I was 12, and it was such an epic concert that I had to find myself the concert to watch it. One of my best friends actually got me that concert recording for my 15th birthday I believe. Watching that made me love them even more. And then began my hunt to actually own Dizzy Up The Girl.

I have an interesting collection of music albums. I like to get albums that mean something to me, that I can look back on say twenty years from now when they’re considered old and music from a different era, and be like “I liked this album so much so that I hunted around not just Singapore but internationally for it and when I found it…that meant something to the teenage me.” I have spent approximately 5 years trying to get my hands on a copy of this album, and finally gotten hold of one and it is such a strange feeling; almost like a sense of achievement.

I know people don’t really care about music albums anymore, but I see it the way we see vinyls now. One day they’ll be vintage and awesome and so hard to find that having these ‘old’ ones will feel pretty awesome. Over the years, I’ve realised that it’s not easy to find albums by The Goo Goo Dolls in local stores because they’re not as popular or mainstream as some other bands, but also that stores priced it really high. Maybe it just wasn’t the right time for me to own the album. But now I do, and it feels great.

That’s one more CD off my “CDs I Must Own” list.

do you have reasons!

  • Get In Touch

    If you'd like me to do a review of an event, restaurant, service, or product, or would like to see yourself featured on my blog send me an email at srkroshni@gmail.com with some details, and we'll see if we can work something out.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,100 other followers

