portraits from laos

portraits - balloon girl

portraits - cool dude

portraits - monitress girl

portraits-lui

portraits-soccer cheerleaders

portraits-three bunny muskateers

I miss these kids already. I smile thinking of the smiles on their faces, their determination to pronounce a word, or read it out. I miss their love for being photographed, and their surprising skill using my camera. I miss kids who will let you carry them, who will sit you down and braid your hair because they want to and not because you asked them to. I miss the kids who invite you to the river like it’s their secret playground and they’re letting you into some place special, and they’ll hold out their hands to make sure you don’t slip on rocks and mud. I miss walking home after school with them, having them slip their hands into yours and gripping tight. I miss a lot of things about them.

Comments
2 Responses to “portraits from laos”
  1. I was just in Laos a few weeks ago!! AMAZING Place!! Now it’s time to get some money back together so I can go back!! :)

    • ochie says:

      I was there for two weeks in December, part of a team from my college working on a project in a village three hours from Vientiane! We were refurbishing a library that was built by the team who went down in 2011, and we also taught the kids English, and it was a wonderful experience!

      I’d love to go back some time (:

      There are more pictures coming soon!

do you have reasons!

  • Get In Touch

    If you'd like me to do a review of an event, restaurant, service, or product, or would like to see yourself featured on my blog send me an email at srkroshni@gmail.com with some details, and we'll see if we can work something out.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,100 other followers

