piedra negra

So you might have read that last week was my last week of my internship with the design school (more on that in a bit, I guess. i’m still compiling the many photographs I took while at work) but last days mean farewell lunches, and because the people I worked with are absolutely lovely people, they took me to places I hadn’t really been before, and Piedra Negra was one of them. Mexican food is always good, and somehow even though I was in this area almost every day for three and a half months, I never went into this place for some reason. It’s not exactly a place you go alone and sit around and munch on something for lunch. The colours of the place, and the decor, and the kind of music they play there, the whole feel is festive and homey.

I love kitschy decor, so this reminded me a little of Cafe Iguana which has a similar vibe, and since we were amongst the first few there for lunch on that day, we got great service too. Their guacamole is lovely, but the coriander spice sauce that they give with some of the items is seriously divine! I haven’t tasted anything quite like it before, but it is really good, and worth paying a little extra for another serving of just the coriander sauce.

I got myself mushroom quesadillas, which were the vegetarian option offered for the quesadillas, and they were oozing cheese, and the salsa served with it was tangy-spicy and not incredibly hot.

Visit this place if you want to spend an afternoon in the Arab Street area, seek shelter from the heat and feel like you’re anywhere but in Singapore.

do you have reasons!

  • Get In Touch

    If you'd like me to do a review of an event, restaurant, service, or product, or would like to see yourself featured on my blog send me an email at srkroshni@gmail.com with some details, and we'll see if we can work something out.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,100 other followers

