all you need is food and books

I have a weakness for sales, I think that’s quite clear now. It’s not just in terms of fashion and accessories, but also for books. I found a 3 for $10 sale going on at the mall near where I live, and couldn’t help but take a look at what was on sale. 3 for $10 deals are common because they’re fantastic value for your money, especially when taking into consideration the original cost of what you’re getting. Books are kind of expensive in Singapore, with most books costing between $15 to $23, but that’s never quite stopped me from growing a beautiful library of books for myself. Other than the fact that Singapore’s National Libraries are probably among the best and most-used in the world, books on sale do very well here, alongside book exchanges and whatnot.

I eventually got myself a book by Jeanette Winterson because the moment I saw it I was reminded of studying Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit for my A Level Literature paper, and as much as I wasn’t completely smitten by Oranges, I did enjoy her style of writing. Plus, her topics of choice are always interesting.  Also found a lovely copy of Sophie’s Choice, which I’ve read half-way through once before many years ago (I had borrowed it from a school library, and it was so old, and falling apart that I actually caught a cold from it, and thus returned it as soon as I could.) and a copy of Android Karenina, which sounded pretty fascinating. I’ve been wanting to read Anna Karenina at some point, and adding in some robots, 3D waltzes and whatnot just sounded like fun.

Today is the last day of my summer job at the design school, so that also means no more Computer Arts Magazine and design school libraries for me for a while atleast.  I will really miss the reading. I don’t think I’ve ever done this much skills-based-reading before, and it has been incredibly useful. The book on the left is also a wonderful read. It’s full of campaigns from around the world from various industries, and there have been additions of campaigns that the general public would be able to identify pretty easily. It was a fun read.

Sometime in the last couple of weeks I also had a Red Velvet cupcake from Twelve Cupcakes from a colleague, and had lunch at The Salad Shop (don’t ever go there during lunch hour if you can avoid it) where I had a pretty lovely potato-based salad. I have been pampered with good food this summer break and been to a lot of new places that I hope I’ll go back to at some point.

Comments
2 Responses to “all you need is food and books”
  1. Anon says:

    Hey I really enjoy reading your blog. It’s an excellent review of Singapore culture and especially so for someone on a budget (much like myself). Could you maybe share a review on the sort of foods you eat. So far they’ve all been positively delish looking! Also, I don’t know if you have any expertise in this subject, could you share some diet tips? Or eating healthy? Thanks! Looking forward to your next post!

    • ochie says:

      Thank you so much for reading! I’m trying to keep this blog well and alive, and hope things won’t change when my college term resumes next week, but I would gladly do an entry on the food I eat and perhaps something more on eating healthy than dieting, since I’ve never really been on a diet to lose weight, it’s been more for other health reasons (i.e. pretty terrible acne) but eating right has definitely helped!

do you have reasons!

  • Get In Touch

    If you'd like me to do a review of an event, restaurant, service, or product, or would like to see yourself featured on my blog send me an email at srkroshni@gmail.com with some details, and we'll see if we can work something out.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,100 other followers

