notice boards revamp:post us-trip

My noticeboards mean a lot to me, and have meant a lot to me since I got them in 2008. I enjoy decorating them, giving myself something nice to look at on my wall, and I honestly find them inspiring. Some wonder why I bother doing this so painstakingly, but I find it relaxing, and I don’t do it very often, so it’s always nice to take them down and change everything. There’s also the element of how I never quite know how the final boards will look, I’m usually only prepared with a theme of sorts, and this time, it was my US Trip. This trip will keep me going for the rest of the year.

This is what my noticeboards used to look like. this one’s theme is sort of a “monochrome vs colour” to remind myself that neither is mundane. Things from these boards worth pointing out are, from the left, a painting one of my best friends (who goes to college overseas) did for me for my birthday, the  image of Times Square my sis got for me from NYC on her first trip home from college, the vinyl I got from an Oxfam store in London, stuff  from my drama production, a flyer for the 5K I ran earlier this year.

I take them off the wall, on the floor of my room they go!

So, my bare walls look like this. It is admittedly sad looking, which is why the noticeboards do such a great job of brightening up my room and desk area in particular.

And here we see the boards having been rearranged! I enjoy using maps as backgrounds. They’re great fun to build upon. I believe my London-trip themed boards had a beautiful map of Brighton as a background. My (very awesome) sister got me that California flag from San Francisco, and I find it gloriously motivating to look up at my wall and see The Second City pamphlet staring back at me. Unicorns are fun….but wait, you guys deserve close-ups.

This is the board on the left. Things of note, other than the (unironed) flag, my John Mayer sticker, ticket stub from the wonderful NBC Studio Tour (complete with Psych Pineapple pin!), a map of the Met, and Jellyfish!

This is the board on the right. Of note, the lovely maps of Manhattan, Chicago, and Navy Pier, the little card advertising the Roy Lichtenstein exhibition that was on at the Art Institute of Chicago, SECOND CITY, and of course, a caged unicorn in a field.

So I put them up on the wall, and then felt like something was still missing.

And so I brought out my Canon Sylphy Instant Photo Printer

The Final Product! My US Trip, with several photos added! There’s one of me with my mum before we went for my sister’s graduation, me with the view from the Empire State Building, my sister and I after we went on the Waveswinger at Navy Pier, and one of all four of us on the screen at Times Square.

These boards are actually from Ikea, and I generally don’t spend anything on them. Once on a whim I spent about $10 on getting tinsel and some kitschy gnomes for a Christmas themed board, but other than that, I usually use whatever I already have and don’t spend anything on this. It’s instant happiness.

Comments
4 Responses to “notice boards revamp:post us-trip”
  1. sneakergaze says:

    They look great! That unicorn piece always makes me smile (it’s so silly and cute, what were they thinking / smoking) and California really does have an awesome outdoorsy flag, haha. :D

    • ochie says:

      Yeah! The unicorn is adorable. The California flag, is fun. Ironically, with National Day coming up, I have the California flag up before the Singapore one.

  2. adverteren says:

    I am extremely inspired along with your writing skills as smartly as with the layout for your weblog. Is that this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway stay up the nice quality writing, it is rare to look a nice weblog like this one nowadays..

do you have reasons!

  • Get In Touch

    If you'd like me to do a review of an event, restaurant, service, or product, or would like to see yourself featured on my blog send me an email at srkroshni@gmail.com with some details, and we'll see if we can work something out.
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,100 other followers

